top of page

La decima de “Rafa” : an history of faith and discipline

What’s the link between Rafael Nadal’s 10th trophy at the Roland Garros tournament and my Christian faith? Apparently, nothing much. As Wimbledon tournament is starting, I would like to share with you one of my last thoughts about sport and faith.


A few weeks ago, I watched the final of Roland Garros between Rafael Nadal and Stanislas Wawrinka. What a beautiful win from Rafael Nadal! He is such a great tennis player! He has earned once again my respect. Though he’s not my favourite tennis player, I recognize that this man is a living legend.


Tennis and I:


First of all, you ought to know something: I wasn’t always a tennis fan. Indeed, I used to hate it when I was younger. I couldn’t understand the purpose of this game or even how people could be entertained watching two men (or women) suffering under the sun to pass the ball. -_- I just couldn’t! So everytime I would see a Roland Garros game airing on TV, I would gladly channel-hop. Nevertheless, a few years ago, I was invited by a friend of mine to volunteer at the Rogers Cup of Montreal. This is where it all began, but this is another story I won’t tell here. Through this tournament, I’ve met great people passionate about tennis, humble and funny players very accessible. I also discovered this sport’s amazing power to gather men, women and children from different backgrounds. Since then, I enjoy watching tennis biggest tournaments when I have time.



So, when I saw Rafael Nadal winning his 10th Roland Garros trophy, knowing a little about his career history and what he has been through lately, I suddenly thought of him as an inspiration for my own faith journey.


The story behind Rafael Nadal, the legend


The story behind all Nadal’s big victories and trophies is a mix of grace (talent) and discipline, like many saints of our Church. Indeed, he started to play at the age of 3 years old and since then, he was trained hard to be one of the greatest tennis players of our times.


GRACE


Rafael Nadal was born gifted like each one of us. As a matter of fact, our gifts are unique to us and meant to be used and shared for the same sole goal: the glory of God. They can be in sport, music, IT, healthcare, beauty, fashion, etc. We can all serve our neighbors for His glory with our gifts, as long as it is with charity. “So we are to use our different gifts in accordance with the grace that God has given us. […] Love must be completely sincere.” (Rom. 12:6, 9).


What about faith, though? Faith in Jesus-Christ is also a gift we received and meant to be shared. As Jesus said before leaving Earth after His resurrection: “Go and make disciples of all nations” (Mt. 28:19). This is the most joyful news I heard in my life and, of course, I want to share them! However, I don’t know about you, but the Christian daily life is not always easy for me. Indeed, I have to fight so many battles against pride, laziness, and other types. Some days, it can be so easy to wake up and pray with the daily Gospel while some other days, I will hardly take time to meditate the Word of God. I don’t even count all the times I fail to love. This is why, as suggested by Saint Paul to the Corinthians, I need discipline, so badly…


DISCIPLINE


What has always fascinated me about Nadal is the energy he puts on the tennis court. I’ve never seen someone giving that much while playing. Even after an hour and a half game, he can still make very powerful shots. It almost seems like he is ready to die on the court. Nothing is more important to him than victory. Maybe you can have a look at the following video to see what I mean :




As Christians, we are encouraged to give everything we have to remain faithful Christians, by these words of Saint Paul: “Surely you know that many runners take part in a race, but only one of them wins the prize. Run, then, in such a way as to win the prize.” (1 Co. 9:24). You read it: E-V-E-R-Y-T-H-I-N-G. It only means living not a merely life but living our life at the fullest. As Blessed Pier Giorgio Frassati used to say: “To live without faith, without a heritage to defend, without battling constantly for truth, is not to live but to ‘get along’; we must never just ‘get along.”


THE RESURRECTION


Since 2014, “Rafa” started having troubles with his body, such as wrist injuries that would eventually lead him to fall out the top 8 of the ATP ranking at some point. Though, he never got discouraged. When some sport commentators were already thinking “Is it the end for Nadal?” he was just preparing his comeback, and what a comeback! Almost looked like a resurrection.

I have gone through a pretty rough time lately, so, seeing Rafael Nadal holding his 10th Roland Garros prize with his fingers full of plasters, inspired me not giving up and doing the same as him. Enough with letting myself “go with the flow”. Enough with fear and discouragement. I am Christian, beloved daughter of God and I thank God the Father, the Son Jesus and the Holy Spirit, because I’m here for a purpose: L-O-V-E.


“Every athlete in training submits to strict discipline, in order to be crowned with a wreath that will not last; but we do it for one that will last forever. That is why I run straight for the finishing line; that is why I am like a boxer who does not waste his punches” (1 Co. 9: 25-26)


And what about you? Who inspired you lately?

bottom of page